What field in computer science is a nice balance of mathematics and programming?

I am still a student and still deciding what to do in life. I am certain that I will go into computer science, but I am not sure what specific field (i.e cryptography, AI, theory, software engineering). I’d like to enter a field that has a nice 50/50 balance of programming and mathematics since I have a strong passion in both those areas. However, every field I’ve seen either stresses math but not programming (such as cryptography) or stresses programming but not math (such as software engineering).

What field in computer science has a good 50/50 balance between mathematics and programming?

3 Likes

Hello,

I believe that something on the lines of Advanced Analysis of Algorithms or Advanced Algorithms, can be what you are looking for… :slight_smile: It is what I intend to specialize myself in as well :smiley: (who knows, maybe even future will allow some sort of professional cooperation :slight_smile: )

On such a specialization, I guess that you would actually see how advanced Maths (such as Fourier Transforms, Dynamic Programming, Randomized Algorithms, and related things) can actually help on the design of efficient algorithms and in fact, this is really what I want to do in my future life, hopefully as a teacher of an Introduction to Algorithms course. This is simply beautiful :smiley:

Bruno

3 Likes

Hi @kullalok and @kuruma >> similar dreams and passion here too. I like innovative things. Too much mainstream/straightforward tasks don’t interest me. I want to go into research (of course in CS) after my grads. But good PhD schools (US) require sound research backgrounds.