Dynamic Programming : SPOJ EDIST

Here are two of my solutions to the EDIST problem on SPOJ.

1. Fist one is Recursion with Memoisation. Find here
  2. Second one is same as first but implemented through an iterative approach. Find here

Both Solutions being almost same, why does the first one give TLE?

PS : I am a newbie to Dynamic Programming. Some good simple questions of DP will be helpful. Don’t mention any tutorials please (just questions).

Thanks in Advance.

The first one recursion with memoisation uses more memory, since during each recursion a separate memory is required for every variable.

Although both solutions look perfectly fine.

Try this link for more info on DP

Your recursive solution needs minimisation. Here

1. Firslty, You must use array[] instead of
    map<> because access time of array
    is more faster than map<> or even
    unordered_map<>
  2. Secondly there is no need of extra array op[] that you have been used here.
  3. Thirdly there is no need to pass string a, string b in function as it unnecessary takes too much time for initialising and assigning the values again and again.

See my accepted code. I just modify your code little bit.

2 Likes

Thank You @bansal1232

Off topic but why would someone post this and delete it within minutes?
I am talking about @cosmosh answer

@cosmosh I am interested.

alt text

@shraeyas why do you use map? What added advantage do you get other than TLE? Just curious!

1 Like

Either an admin was on, who saw and deleted it, or perhaps that poor guy was trying to answer with code or something but some error occurred.

Someways it used to seem easy because the default value is set to zero and also does not give segmentarion fault, but now I guess there are disadvantages too. Will stop using that and try to stick to arrays.

:slight_smile:

2 Likes

@vijju123

or maybe trying to inject a script, which did not work :stuck_out_tongue: