When to use Dynamic Programming?

Recently in many contests, i couldn’t solve all problems and after the contest : is it a DP problem??..
I have been quiet learning and practicing dynamic programming and I am a beginner in dp so I cant realize that when to use or solve a particular problem using dynamic programming. Hope someone helps and thanks in advance :slight_smile:

1 Like

That’s the same as asking “How do I know when to use this formula in maths/physics?” or “How can I solve any problem in the world?”. Thats the whole point of it :expressionless:
It comes with practice and experience.

Right now, you could ask yourself a few Q-

1. Any common sub-problem or overlapping structure?
  2. If i store the result for index i, can i somehow use it for any future operation?

For me 2. always works, because it helps me in my algorithm-thinking, and I get a clearer picture of how I may use previous results.

2 Likes

This stepwise thinking might not help when the problem demands some non-trivial dp. Being more creative sometimes helps.
Like in yesterday’s lunchtime problem, no way can you ask if you can store i’s result for future operation and then understand that it can be solved using dp.

All classic points have been mentioned by @vijju123 but at a quick glance you can check whether the input size permits a quadratic time algo if it permits then u can give a thought to dp else no. Yes but the dp has to be 2-D in order to check this

Consider the formula to be f = x * y.

Q. How do I know when to use this formula?
A. If you are given values of any two variables and are said to find the value of the remaining third variable, you can use this formula.

@ista2000, answer to this question exist. That’s the whole point of it :expressionless:

Practice and experience is not the only answer to every question. If you don’t want to help, at least try to respect the community members seeking for help. THATS THE WHOLE POINT OF IT. It comes with practice and experience :smiley: