how to start with segment trees

How should I start with segment trees? I am a beginner.

here segment trees concept is very well explained and i also learnt from here

For segment tree, first make sure you know concepts of recursion and arrays.

Follow hruday968 's link of hackerearth. I myself learnt from that tutorial, and can say that its pretty decent. Dont worry if lazy propagation doesn’t strike at first, you can come back to it again after doing some basics on segment tree.

That tutorial comes with sample/solved question on finding sum of a given range. Understand the code, working thoroughly. Then, give a hand at the given problem at the end. It should prove easy.

Then, with the concepts learned, remember one golden rule.

Deciding what to store in a node and how to determine relationship b/w parent and child nodes is the key of segment tree. The information you are storing at each node, should be such that on having information of 2 child nodes, you can determine required/asked data, and the information to store in parent node.

Eg, lets say we have nodes 1,2,3. 1 and 2 are child nodes and 3 is their parent. Lets say our query is sum of all elements in a range.

Then of course, we can store sum of respective ranges in child nodes. LEts say 1 and 2 store sum in range [0,3] and [4,8]. Now, since we are storing sums of given range, we can easily answer queries in this range, and for parent range [0,8], we know that sum of all elements in this range = sum of elements in [0,3] +sum of elements in [4,8].

A proper and valid relationship is made here, and this is the concept of segment tree in a summary. Dont worry about other details regarding answering query right now, first check the article and understand the working.