How to excel in programming?

I am a novice programmer. I have started programming since 2-3 months. Currently, I am learning C. I would request some suggestions on how to program, how can i solve problems better, where can i solve them. On a whole, I am asking for some tips on how to excel in programming. It would be better if you suggest some books and websites. Looking forward to your answers.

6 Likes

This is a broad and open ended question.

1. Select your weapon in this case : The programming language.
    Usually C/C++ works fine.
  2. Understand the basic concepts of programming very well before you start in competitions or online judges. Usually concepts such as pointers, strings, integer arithmetic is rudimentary to an excellent programmer.
  3. Once you feel competent, comfortable coding basic problems such as fibonacci series move on to DS.
  4. DS or Data Structures are the most important tools of an excellent programmer. Love it learn it use it. Main topics are Lists, Trees, Graphs and Hash tables.
  5. After DS, you should focus on algorithms. They will infuse ou with new ideas and also you will learn about many advanced applications that are always required at programming. Again main topics are sorting, searching, dynamic programming and running time analysis. Basic understanding of random algorithms also helps.
  6. Now you are ready. Start solving code chef problems. Start with “Easy”, work up to “Hard”. Tackle atleast one problem every day.
  7. After you feel comfortable coding in Code Chef Practice problems you can try participating in Cook Off, Long Contests etc.

Other resources :
Books on C/C++

1. Programming in C - Kernighan Ritchie
  2. How to Program in C++ - Deitel
  3. C++ The Complete Reference - Herbert Schildt
    Books on DS
  4. Data Structures and Algorithms - Horowitz, Sahani and Anderson Freed
  5. Data Structures and Algorithms in C - Mark Allen Weiss
    Books on Algo