Help with Paintings problem !!

Hey,
I was trying to solve the Paintings problem. I implemented the pseudo-code that was mentioned in the algorithm. I am new to this greedy approach, which makes it even hard to find where the problem lies. I am getting WA in spite it being correct for various test cases i’ve tried. I am attaching the code here.

#include<stdio.h>
#define min(a,b) a<b?a:b
int main()
{
    long long int N,M;
    int H;
    scanf("%lld %lld %d",&N,&M,&H);
    long long int toPaint = N*M;
    long long int ans =0;
    long long int canPaint;
    long long int T[H];
    unsigned long long int C[H]; int i;
    for(i=0;i<H;i++)
    {
        scanf("%lld %lld",&T[i],&C[i]);
    }
    for(i=0;i<H;i++)
    {
        canPaint = min(toPaint,T[i]);
        ans += canPaint *C[i];
        toPaint -=canPaint;
        //printf("%lld %d\n",T[i],C[i]);
    }
    if(toPaint >0)
        printf("Impossible\n");
    else
        printf("%lld",ans);
    return 0;
}

Any suggestion would be of great help !! :slight_smile:

Greedy approach simply means that at each step you select the option that is best at the moment.
In this problem, aim is to minimise the total cost of painting. So, obviously we will paint only the required number of cells and not more than that. The greedy approach here is that we start painting from the floor which has the minimum painting cost and then continue painting the floors in the increasing order of their costs. So the key thing missing in your solution is that you are not sorting the floors in increasing order of their costs i.e. according to array C[]. 2nd thing is that your program is not printing newline after printing the answer. Hope this helps :slight_smile:

EDIT: I saw your solution. Looks like you have already realised that you need sorting. But the sorting technique you are using is too slow for the input of size 10^12 hence it is TLE. Try using better algorithm like quick sort and you should get correct answer :slight_smile: