Help needed with this Dynamic Programming Question

I am preparing for INOI and am stuck on this problem here: http://acm.timus.ru/problem.aspx?space=1&num=1081

I am just a beginner with DP so I am not getting any idea on how we will solve this question. Can anyone explain me the proper logic of the solution to this problem instead of just giving the code?

1 Like

First let us start with counting the number of binary sequences having length β€˜n’ and no adjacent ones

We use the array β€œDP” to store the count corresponding to the length

First place in a binary sequence can be either 0 or 1

Now coming to the most interesting part,
On second place you can fill 0, irrespective of what you have filled before but if you want to fill up the 1 at this position it is necessary to fill 0 at the previous position

In simpler terms, it means that if you want to fill a position with β€˜1’ it is necessary that its previous position is filled with β€˜0’ and if you want to fill a position with β€˜0’ its previous position can be filled by either β€˜0’ or '1’

Read and try to understand the above line because it is the key to the solution

So for any length n, let us construct our binary sequence in the backward direction:

there are two possible things to fill either β€˜0’ or β€˜1’, if you fill β€˜0’ you have to construct the β€˜n-1’ length sequence in the same way, else if you fill β€˜1’ it is need to be guaranteed that previous position is filled with β€˜0’ so you have then to construct β€˜n-2’ length sequence

So a general compute function can be given as:

def compute(n):
    if n==0:
        return 1
    elif n==1:
        return 2
    else:
        return compute(n-1)+compute(n-2)

This function looks very same as that of "Fibonacci" just the starting seed value are 1 and 2 instead of 0 and 1

In the above compute function, as you see that several sub-problems overlap and are computed repeatedly so this can be memoized and the value can be computed as:

def compute():