Grid representation as a graph

I am thinking of a grid and suppose in the grid ‘#’ represents that the way is blocked and ‘.’(dot without quotes) represents there is a way.So if A is inside the grid then he can walk inside when he found way(.)
e.g.,

#######
#### A####
##.#.##
##.#.##
##...##
#######

for the above example, A found the way and he reaches to other place like this below in picture:

#######
##.####
##.#A##
##.#.##
##...##
#######

If I am thinking this problem as a graph then How I will represent this grid as a graph ?
How to represent this as an adjacency list ?
I am new to graph just stuided BFS only, please answer in easy words

Suppose I have to find the maximum distance between two dots(.), here there is no source and destination, how to do that ?

#######
#.#.###
#.#.###
#.#.#.#
#.....#
#######

can u provide the problem link…i.e. the ques that u r trying!!!

@kunal361 I am not trying any question, but I studied somewhere that if any question is in the form of grid, then that question will be considered as graph problem, so I randomly select this case and thought how to form graph with this grid, what I realized is every co-ordinate can be considered as node and top,bottom,left and right as its edge, but I don’t know how to represent it using adjacency list or matrix :frowning:
so basically I want to know how to code for this grid.

can u relate ur ques to this problem statement…http://www.codechef.com/problems/BYTESD …??

hmmm yes, this can be considered as the same problem…

then…for such a problem there is no need to create the adj list…u just need to start at a particular location and then traverse through the array in all 2,3 or 4 possible directions till u get to the destination…for this you can use the floodfill algorithm!!!

algo:-

floodfill(int i,int j)
{
    visited[i][j]=1;   //mark the position as visited
    if(array[i][j]==destination)
        print reached