int a[2][2]={
},i,j;

*(a+1)=3;

for(i=0;i<2;i++)
    for(j=0;j<2;j++)
    printf("%d",a[i][j]);

return 0;
}

The above code gives the error : Incompatible types when assigning to type ‘int[2]’ from type int.

What does it mean?
Sorry, i’m very new to programming.

Thankyou!

*(a+1)=3; is wrong.
are you trying to set the a[0][1] to 3 ?
when you use a *(a+1) it will translate to (address of a + 4) which holds another address since its a double array. so you cannot assign an integer to an pointer without deference so this statement could be changed to either ((a+1)) or a[1][0].
if the array would have been a[5] the this statement is valid *(a+1) will translate to *(address of a + 4) which can be assigned to say any int value.

–Prash.

there is a significant difference between the storage of 1-D arrays and 2-D arrays in memory… the name of a 1-D array variable (called a reference for the array) acts as a pointer, which points to the memory address where the first element of the array is stored. But this is not the case in 2-D array. The reference of a 2-D array points to an array of pointers, and each pointer in this array “points” to a 1-D array, forming an array of arrays , called a 2-D array. Here is an image to help you visualize:

![alt text][1]

now, in your code, a is the pointer which points to the first element in the array of pointers, as shown in the image. *a represents the pointer to which ‘a’ points, i.e. the first element in the array of pointers. *(a+1) refers to the 2nd element in the array of pointers. This pointer points to the first element of the second row of the 2-D array, as shown in the image. Hence, *(*(a+1)) will give you the value of a[1][0], i.e. 1st element of 2nd row. Hence, the assignement operation should be like:

*(*(a+1))=3 (or any other value you might want)
[1]: http://discuss.codechef.com/upfiles/img.gif

Actually in this case if u write * ( a + 1 ) then it means u are at second ROW but Column not specified.