An Aspiring Programmer needs help

Hello fellow coders.
I wanted to know as to what programming books , concepts I need to know before trying to crack the problems on Codechef. I already know C and C++ which I studied in 11th and 12th but I want to expand my knowledge to higher levels. I tried to decipher and understand what the other coders have submitted but was not able to understand a single thing and suddenly i thought c/c++ was some kind of alien language.LOL …

also need some info on compilers(i really dont know what GCC or GNU or whatever that is).

I think you are good to go. I think you did it wrong by looking at other’s code directly. Go and start practicing from the Easy section first. You’ll get to know the How To’s from there. Keep practicing and one day you’ll be comfortable to go ahead with the competitions.

Don’t look into other’s submission directly. You’ll never understand it in the first go if you haven’t actually attempted it. Try your self, if you find difficulty, post here and tell exactly where the difficulty is. 'm sure somebody would be able to help you.

You need to know the available data structures and your ability to think where to use what. But yes, there is no such book from where you can read and learn all these things. Only way to learn swimming is to dive into the sea, rather reading the books about how to swim. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Cool!! Thanks Rajneesh!! But at least I need to read some books on programming or algorithms.
And the most important thing I still need the info on compilers and the GNU and GCC thing . because i use Turbo C++ 4.5 and code compiled in that may not work here.

if you can post any links to other forum posts that also may help.

:slight_smile:

First thing, to start here you’ll have to forget turbo. :slight_smile: